A jumpstart to the morning: smoothies and muesli

I haven’t been posting for a while due to a hectic university schedule but over the next few days I have some yummy recipes to share with the internet world and myself, for posting a blog with pictures requires having something to photograph. Which of course means cooking and baking 🙂

I thought I’d get on track by sharing my jumpstart to the morning (which I’m not very good at). Lots of fruit, nuts and fibre all packed together nicely in an easy peasy, delicious and palatable fashion.

First up is my strawberry and banana smoothie, a really simple way of getting 2 of your 5 a day

1 handful strawberries and 1 small banana, 1/3 cup water, 1/3 orange juice and 1/3 soya milk

Chuck into a blender and blend until smooth. Serve in a glass with a straw. It’s as easy as that! To make a more extravagent smoothie chuck in a handful of flaked almonds and a pinch of sunflower seeds.

Next, I like to create my own muesli surprise in a cereal storage container.

1 packet of plain crunchy muesli, 200g raisins, an assortment of nuts such as almonds, walnuts, hazelnuts, pecans.

Shake the container to mix it all up. Whilst it may seem expensive at first, the great thing about this breakfast is that it will last for a while in the cupboard in a sealed plastic container.

Leave a Reply

